Post Thanks / Like

Smile First Time Using Blackfire Wet Diamond

Finally tried out my Blackfire Wet Diamond on my black Camry last Week

I wanted a good clean surface to apply it on so here is a run down of my prep process:

Washed 2bM w/gg plus 1b for wheels with Meg`s Gold Class / 2 Meg`s MF Wash Mitts / Several Wheel Brushes
    Pulled into Garage and clayed with Meg`s Smooth Surface Clay & QD while still wet
    Washed again 1b w/gg with Meg`s GC & clean MF Wash Mitt using CR Spotless DI water
    Dried with Airwand to speed up the drying process.
    Polished paint to remove light any light swirls & towel marks with M205 UFP, G110 and W9207 Finishing Pad
    Wiped down with a 50/50 IPA/Water solution

Before I go any further with my review, I want to qualify my skill level here. I am a newb and still a bit of a hack. I only started taking care of my own cars last July when I bought my 2009 Black Camry Hybrid. I have since become a fanatic. My experience with applying wax has been with M21 and M26 using the G110 to apply and remove. I have never successfully applied them without getting streaking. I can`t seem to apply thin enough.

I applied Souveran about 4 weeks ago and it went on and off pefectly and left no streaks for the first time. I was thrilled. It was also the first time I applied wax by hand using a foam applicator. I find I prefer this method over using the G110.

The reason I went into the above is because for the First coat of Wet Diamond I made 3 mistakes.

1. I didn`t shake the bottle well enough and the application I applied to the hood was not mixed properly.

2. I applied it too thick on much of the car.

3. I let it dry too long (I applied to the whole car and then dressed all the tires)

When I buffed to remove the hazed product, 80% buffed out easily and the balance gave me some difficulty. When I pulled the car out into the sun, there were streaks that would not buff out.