Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

fk1000p over klasse sg

I have been using klasse sg for many years but would like to try something different.

Is it ok to apply fk1000p over klasse sg without removing the klasse? The paint on my 2008 Subaru Outback is in perfect condition.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: fk1000p over klasse sg

May I ask, why FK1000P?

To answer your question, it will be fine to apply the FK on top of KSG. With the Klasse being acrylic based, it`s doubtful you`ll have any beneficial synergy of the two products, but the FK will act as a sacrificial layer, extending whatever is beneath it. Or will it? If the KSG is on its last legs, the FK`s solvent might just eat it up. Either way, you`re fine.

The more important question is if your paint is currently LSP-ready. How long has it been since that last coat of K?

Post Thanks / Like

jdover- Welcome to Autopia!

Heh heh, you`re about to make the same change that I did, hope it works as well for you!

IME it`ll work fine even if the KSG is near-death. I might KAIO it first just as a paint cleaning step, or to improve the look (KSG just doesn`t do it for me on many paints, but I never really minded it on Subarus), but it`d depend on my mood at the time. In the unlikely event that there is an issue, I`m confident you`ll notice it right away (assuming good inspection) and then you`ll merely have to do the KAIO step after all, quick and easy either way.

Just FWIW, IME one coat of FK1000P will last/protect/etc. better than two coats of KSG (which I always layered much more heavily, and FK1000P still outperformed it). I`d be *very* interested to hear your opinions after you`ve applied the FK1000P and lived with it for a while.

Post Thanks / Like

Klasse, FK1000P, hmmmmm... how did I know you`d respond to this Accum?
    Likes nickclark08, Stokdgs, Bert, rlmccarty2000 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

WaxAddict- Gee, that *IS* a mystery, huh?!?
    Likes WaxAddict liked this post

Post Thanks / Like