Post Thanks / Like

CanCoat Merlin mix

I’m a big fan of trying different Merlin mixes, that is, experimenting with the SiO2 Spray portion of the mix. The remainder of my mixes are always 0.75oz Ech2O and the rest distilled water in a 16oz bottle. I was able to find my fave, PA High Gloss Merlin mix by using an ounce of High Gloss. Is it a risk that you may waste an expensive ounce of product if the combo doesn’t work well? Sure. But I usually have plenty of product to spare since I’m a hobbyist with too much stuff.

Anyways, latest try was adding an ounce of CanCoat which I had opened recently to do my wife’s car and there’s no way I’ll use the full bottle unless I’m creative. I mixed this up about 2 weeks ago. The top was already clogged with a small brick of hardened/mushed SiO2. I was able to shake this out from the top so it is now an iceberg floating around in the bottle. I then used this mix as a drying aid on my X5 after washing with Enigma Shampoo. Enigma Shampoo already plays very well with the Enigma wax base and the combo look really nice on the graphite metallic paint, but I must say that CanCoat Merlin mix definitely adds some pizzazz:

Despite the frozen iceberg in the bottle, it’s clear with one fine mist that there is still heavy, unhardened CanCoat in the formula.

I would only recommend trying a combo like this if you plan to use it often right after mixing. I might even recommend trying only an 8oz bottle to make sure you use it before the entire thing hardens. Since realizing how fast it hardens, I’ve used it as a topper on my wife’s car (CanCoat base LSP) and now as this drying aid. I’ve also used it on the 8 wheels for each car. No streaking, just work it in until dry or nearly dry. Definitely darkens my black cars, which now looks like it has black paint instead of dark grey metallic.

Thanks for reading.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Likes Stokdgs, BudgetPlan1, SNP209 liked this post
    Thanks Stokdgs, JRW67 thanked for this post