Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Maintaining 55 yr old orig. lacquer

Newbie here, although I`ve been obsessing about paint on my old cars for many years. I recently acquired a mint original mint `61 Cadillac with its original black lacquer. Guy I got it from, who won a number of awards with it, told me the only way to care for the paint is Megs #7 followed by quality carnauba like Pinnacle or P21S. This makes sense to me, but I`m wondering if an intervening step like Klasse SG would help. I`m a long time fan of AIO + SG + a coat or two of P21S as a regimen for garage queens with more modern two stage paint paint, although I would not use AIO on this old lacquer unless there was a real need for polish, which there isn`t.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Maintaining 55 yr old orig. lacquer

Is this strictly a show car or is out in the bad weather?I would likely follow the recommendation of the seller and keep it real simple. I don`t believe I`d be considering any sort of "sealant".
    Cars: bringing people together

Post Thanks / Like

Here`s the most comprehensive article you`ll see on antique single-stage paints: The Secret to Removing Oxidation and Restoring a Show Car Finish to Antique Single Stage Paints

I used Mike`s tutorial years ago to take my El Camino from a oxidized, fading embarrassment to a trophy winner. Applying the the #7 and letting it soak in, overnight at least, makes the paint much more receptive to any subsequent compounding or polishing steps. I`ve tried a number of products, both waxes and sealants, with good results. My primary criteria for choosing a last step product is streaking, or lack thereof. These old, permeable paints get very finicky in that regard. I`ll often use Collinite 915 for its durability, then top with a "beauty wax" such as Souveran, Fusion, Dodo Juice or even Meguiar`s M26 for the additional glow.

Bill
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Thanks XxBoostinxX, Sevillian, The Driver thanked for this post