Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Best base coat under spray waxes

Have patience with me as I am a newbie/amateur at detailing.

In the past I have primarily waxed and washed my vehicle. I was using Mother`s carnauba paste wax then about 3 years ago I upgraded to Klasse AIO followed by Collinite 476s.

But less than 2 months ago I got a new silver RAV4 and after using the KAIO and 476s on it began noticing white stains on all my porous black trim around the entire lower extremity of the vehicle. I have been able to remove it with Dawn and IPO. Apparently the 476s was the culprit which I ignorantly applied to the trim to protect it.

So I have been doing some research and have decided to start using a spray wax like D156 over the base coats.

I am beginning to see the complexity of the subject. Using multiple products to care for one`s car`s surface, change one variable and everything changes.

This morning it occurred to me that whereas most persons experience with apply spray waxes was that they go on quickly - say in 7 to 15 minutes to do the whole car. But my experience of applying D159 over a 9 week old coating of 476s was quite different. It took me most of an hour to apply the D156.

Now I had chosen 476s about 2 years ago when my plan was to wax my previous car say every 8 months and I was looking for longevity.

But now I realize 476s may not be the ideal base coating for a spray wax.

Also now I have discovered Aquawax, Optimum Car Wax, & Pinnacle Liquid Spray Wax.

I will probably dump the 476s because of the trim staining issues.

So what is an ideal base coat for spray waxes?? A wax such a Pinnacle Sovereign for example or a sealant such as WG high gloss sealant? Should one stick within a product line?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Best base coat under spray waxes

Optimum spray wax is in my opinion the best spray wax on the market. It isnt a topper and can be used as a solo product.

I use it as a topper though...