Post Thanks / Like

Need help - how to wash of 2 month of winter muck and mud?

Hi,
    I`ve been derelict in keeping my daily driver clean though the early winter months and now its really filthy. There is even mud on the doors. How would you suggest I wash it and what products would you suggest I use.

The car is new and the paint is perfect (or was)

I have a foamaster II and I have access to a pressure washer if necessary, though I hate to have to borrow tools from my brother....

Thanks ahead of time.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Need help - how to wash of 2 month of winter muck and mud?

Depending how bad it is, rinse off the car before washing. If the mud is caked on, pressure washer will be handy to speed things up.

Post Thanks / Like

Pressure wash the entire thing and then do a Garry Dean Rinseless. Hasn`t failed me yet on extremely dirty cars. I do make sure that there is nothing clumpy on any surface before I do the rinseless.

Post Thanks / Like

Preassure wash - rinse, Foam - rinse, Traditional two bucket hand wash.

Post Thanks / Like

I would probably use the pressure washer, if available and pressure wash the whole thing first. Especailly the wheels and wheelwells, they seem to usually hold the most dirt. The faom gun is good to loosen the dirt, but you still need to wash it by hand afterwards. I would then dry it and check to see if it needs to be clayed. If so do that if not I would polish and wax it really good. That should get you through winter with a few washes. A good coat of wax or sealant will help make the next washes much easier. I use Poorboys Spray and Rinse and the wheels, Tuff Shine on the tires, Chemical Guys wash, Chemical Guys Blacklight (most of the time) and then top it with XMT 180 or Nattys. FOr hard to get out stains on the interior I`ll use Blacklight APC, one of the best I`ve treid. I use other prtoducts but these will give you great result almost every time. Hope that helps a little.

Post Thanks / Like