Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    Several weeks ago, after it rained, i saw 2 white spots on my trunklid and 1 spot on my bumper (parked in apartment`s covered garage). It looked powdery so i figured it was dirt from the upper level. But after i washed it about a week later, the spots wouldn`t come off. Weeks passed because i`ve been extremely busy, and i got a letter from the managers of my apartment as an update to their policies. one of the updates - they can`t be held liable for the lime that drips onto cars parked in the garage and can damage the paint! now i am freaked out because i don`t know if the spots are permanent. i read that vinegar can help but can anyone give me detailed instructions on how to go about removing the spots? i am not very experienced in the detailing arena, so i greatly appreciate any help! thanks

Post Thanks / Like
    I wonder if it actually burns into the paint or just sits on the surface.

Try vinegar first. I know you can use it for waterspots.

If that doesn`t work, then you`ll probably need to get a paint cleaner or a polish. But a paint cleaner or polish will probably only help if the lime is on the surface or just damaged the top layer of clearcoats. I`m not too sure what lime can do to paint.

Stupid question alert: Where is the lime coming from?
    2005 F-150 Reg Cab Flareside 5.4L

Chemical Engineers: More refined than the rest.

Post Thanks / Like
    Sorry to hear about the drip problem. The vinegar wash is pretty simple. Make sure the car is clean first (wash the car), then use a clean sponge and distilled white vinegar (in a bucket) to wash over the areas with lime spots. Allow the vinegar to site for 20-30 seconds, then rinse well. The acid in the vinegar will not hurt your paint if you don`t allow it to dry or sit for more than a few minutes.

After rinsing and drying, check for paint damage. If you find etching in the paint, use 3M Swirl Mark Remover to polish.

db

Post Thanks / Like