Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    Believe it not, I have never done a Quick Detail before. So, to ensure I start off on the right track, I would appreciate your opinions. I`m planning on using a MF and the QD from Mequiars. Do I go over the car with a damp MF first and then with the QD? or....do I spray the QD directly on the car and buff with a dry MF.

Thanks in advance for your help. I only wish I had found this board earlier....great info.

Have a good one...highlander.

Post Thanks / Like
    as it tend to preserve more of the product than spraying onto a towel that just sucks up the product. I`m sure everybody here has a different way to do it though.

Post Thanks / Like
    Depends what your tryingn to do.

I don`t QD much cuz i`m chicken of self-induced scratches. I usually let it go till the next wash.

When I do, I usually take the california duster lightly over the vechile first, to try to get as much stuff off.

Then I hit the car with the spray directly.

The idea is to let the spray lift and lube the particles up off the paint and into your MF or terry cloth. Just spraying the cloth doesn`t let that happen.

If I am using QD to say remove klasse SG, I do just mist the towel ... but different situation there.

Post Thanks / Like
    I use the QD after I wax, and it usually makes a big difference while it adds to the smoothness and congruity of the wax. I spray it directly on the car and buff until dry. I also use it after I wash and dry to prevent water spots, streaks, and swirls, and I apply it the same way as I described with the wax. Sometimes what I do is spray it the towel or car surface while I am drying the car, but I usually do that when I fear the surface is not wet enough with a towel and fear that swirls or streaks could occur. QD (I use FI) is essential to detailing, as I have discovered. It`s great for a quick shine after a wash, as well as providing lubrication for almost every detailing job.
    -Chuckmotor