Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Skip claying

Post Thanks / Like

Skip claying

Hi,

Brand new vehicle with under 500 miles, 3 week old new factory build that was delivered via a truck not rail and is garaged every night - rained on 1x. Looking to put a ceramic coating on my vehicle this weekend. Will use an iron remover and perform a 1 step polish. Wondering if I need to clay the vehicle as there can`t be much contamination and I would think the iron remover and polishing would suffice. I`m not opposed to doing the clay work but it seems unnecessary and will just add to me having to do more paint correction to fix whatever marring it causes. Fortunately, I have a white care not black like my last vehicle. Looking for others input as I am a relative newbie to coatings.

Thanks everyone.
    Likes Stokdgs liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Skip claying

Just do a baggie test after the decontamination. If the paint feels rough, then clay. Do you really need to polish such a brand new car?
    Treat it like it`s the only one in the world.
    Likes BudgetPlan1, Dan, William_Wallace, mc2hill liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Bill D View Post
    Just do a baggie test after the decontamination. If the paint feels rough, then clay. Do you really need to polish such a brand new car?
    If doing a ceramic coating, I think a light polish is a wise step always. It perfects the paint that will have a long term protection that doesn’t hide anything. Also, it deeply cleanses any road film that might be present. And there’s no telling how many dealer installed swirls are present on new cars.

as far as skipping clay, think it would be ok if doing a baggie test to confirm what’s left. I always think the marring level of clay is overstated. I’ve never had a problem with modern fine clays like Pinnacle, Sonus, or even Meg’s pro blue.
    Likes TTBear liked this post

Post Thanks / Like