Post Thanks / Like

Exhaust Cleaning

Hello everyone! Your friendly neighborhood newbie here lol.

Today, in celebration of the first day of spring (finally)! I did a full detail on my daily driver. I`ve never cleaned the exhaust pipe, but read a couple forums here, and YouTubed it. I gently rinsed the pipe with my garden hose, no nozzle or pressure, sprayed APC directly to the pipe and on the wheel wand. After scrubbing, there wasn`t much difference. The APC is diluted 3:1. Any suggestions for next time?

More importantly, the videos I watched showed water pouring out. I only stuck the hose about 3 inches inside the pipe, rinsed for 15 seconds or so, and IMO, water did come out but not too much. The car was in my driveway which is flat-ish. I also did not drive the car, except to move it back into the garage. Should I be concerned or am I just being paranoid lol. Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Exhaust Cleaning

Are you talking about interior exhaust pipe or tips?

Post Thanks / Like

If your car starts, then the water didn’t get into the engine, which would be bad. Otherwise any water in the exhaust system would evaporate in your next (long) drive.
    Likes Chas09 liked this post

NorCal.. Avatar = Swan Lake, Hallstatt, Austria
    Post Thanks / Like

Is the exhaust tip a chrome or stainless steel tip or something like that ? There are specific metal cleaners/polishes in tubes made for cleaning those shiny tips..
    Or is it just a plain, steel exhaust pipe??

Either way, I would NEVER stick a running water hose up an exhaust pipe... You don`t water getting to the muffler and hanging around inside it..
    Yes, it is possible to get most of it back out if it gets that far, by driving the car long enough to get the exhaust passing through the muffler to dry the water out, but why would you ever want to do that?
    You just don`t need to do it to rinse the end of the pipe off...
    Look at what you are doing... Is all the soap gone??? Stop rinsing...
    Dan F