Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    I was given a cheaper pneumatic drill ($20) from Pep Boys in which I was going to use for polishing glass, restoring headlights and also wheels with the Flitz polishing system. I got the connection set-up on the compressor with a non-marring hose, an in-line oiler, a swivel and lastly the drill. Well the drill works just fine, the problem is the amount of residual oil that is blown out of the exhaust of the drill with the exiting air. This is my first pneumatic tool, so I have very little experience with them. Is this the difference between a cheaper pneumatic tool and a more expensive one? Do the more expensive ones keep the oil in better? Having residual oil would obviously be a "no-no" for detailing. I may just be better off in going back to my cordless drill or use a cheap electric drill.

What are you guys experiences with pneumatic tools, if you use them? Do you like them any better than their electric or cordless counterparts? Are pneumatic tools dead?

Post Thanks / Like
    I use a pneumatic ratchet, impact gun and drill, and I have no oil residue at all. All of mine are Husky from Home Depot....
    1995 Porsche 968 Cab Speed Yellow
    A-Z Mobile Detailing

Post Thanks / Like
    Maybe the problem is with the in-line oiler?

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Gears
    Maybe the problem is with the in-line oiler?

Well you may be right, I could take it out of the mix and I guess that I would be alright with dropping in some oil before each time I start to use the drill. Like I said I am new to using pneumatic tools so I am open to trying anything. I will remove it to see what happens (and also see if I have it in the proper orientation). The in-line oiler that I am using is below:

Craftsman 1/4 in. NPT Thread Air Tool Oiler

Sears item# 00916309000 Mfr. model# 16309

I guess the only way to tell if the tool is the problem is to get a higher quality drill, like this one: