Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    A few weeks ago, there was a post about the pH of Blackfire Wash. That got me to wondering about the pH of detailing products in general, so today I brought several samples into the lab and took some readings. I mixed 1 ml of each product with 25 ml of distilled water, and took readings on a “Beckman Phi 40†pH meter. My background is not in chemistry, so I hope my method accurately represents the pH of the products. I needed to dilute the samples in order to take the readings. Distilled water should have no buffering capability, and thus should not influence the pH of each product (not much, anyway), giving an accurate reading. Neutral pH is 7.0; anything below that is “acidic†(like acid), and anything higher than 7.0 is “basic†(like bleach). The lower the number, the stronger the acid, and the higher the number, the stronger the base. The numbers below are for “entertainment purposes onlyâ€, and should not be used to make a value judgment about any product. I don’t know what the “optimal†pH of automotive paint is, so maybe someone else can comment. If anyone else out there has a background in chemistry, please comment about my method or the results.

I couldn`t get this data to look good in this forum, so here`s a link to an html doc:
    http://www.staff.uiuc.edu/~dneece/ph.htm

Post Thanks / Like
    Cool test, thanks for sharing your results. What amazes me is that the BF Polish and Paint Protection are nearly equal to Simple Green and stronger than DAWN. I`m no chemist, but wow! :scared

FWIW, I`m NOT surprised that the BF Polish and Protection were exactly EQUAL.

Good work!

:xyxthumbs

Post Thanks / Like
    9.8?!?! Holy Smokes! I`m glad I used that stuff on my friend`s car and not mine!

Post Thanks / Like
    excellent info! im going to save that in my comp...:up

Post Thanks / Like
    Very cool.

So you have lots of free time at work? LOL

Post Thanks / Like