Post Thanks / Like

Considering throwing in the towel!

Well, i regret to inform AF...but i am considering throwing in the towel. I am in my second year of business as a mobile detailer but I have much more experience than that. 10 years ago I started doing high school co op at a body shop where i learned the basics of wet sanding and polishing from the old school Italian dudes. The guys who really took pride in their work and would wet sand entire suv`s by hand! From there I moved onto a pre owned Exotic car dealership as their detailer and learned a lot. I would work on Ferraris, Lambos, Bentleys, All kinds of Bimmers and Mercs. So my learning curb from day 1 was on high end cars. I was always good at detailing because I love detailing. Some people drink to relieve stress, some people have a smoke, some do drugs, I grab a polisher. After working at the pre owned dealership I moved on to become the Head Detailer For Pfaff Porsche which is where I met most of my clients. I worked at Porsche for 2 years and then went on my own. Did I take a pay cut? yes. Was it really slow in the beginning? yes. However, I was my own boss, with my own schedule, and I loved it. So why throw in the towel right? Well after 2 years of being on my own, business isn`t exactly booming. At least no in Toronto, or most of southern Ontario. I get a lot of "kijiji" jobs which i have to turn down because they want a complete "buff and shiney" for $60. The customers that I do have that are willing to pay the buck and understand about paintwork correction and what is involved aren`t frequent enough. So all in all I make enough to survive, but i`m not in business to survive. I`m in business to make money and buy m3`s (plural because i want 3 generations, e30, e36, and e46). Anyways...not to depress anybody but I figured this is the only place where people would understand the problems that come with detailing.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Considering throwing in the towel!