Post Thanks / Like

Insurance Question

I have a couple questions concerning insurance that I am hoping someone can help me with. I have done quite a bit of reading on here concerning the topic but still not sure I have a good grasp. Here is my situation:

I am looking to start a small, part-time detailing business out of my house/garage. I have a full-time job so this would strictly be a supplemental business on nights and weekends. I have no experience in the detailing business, but I have detailed my own and other family member cars. I plan on offering very basic services (wash, clay bar, wax, interior cleaning and carpet cleaning). At least initially I don`t plan on an services involving buffers, repainting, dent repair, tinting etc. I would definitely prefer to keep this home-based (as opposed to mobile) as I feel more comfortable working at home and would be more able to spend time with my family.

I figured one of the first steps in starting such a business was to contact my insurance agent. He`s not really an agent, but rather shops the various companies and finds the best rates. We`ve been working with him for years and have been very happy with his work (and we trust him). Anyway, I emailed him the following:

"I am planning on starting a car detailing business. This will be a part-time business and will be done out of our garage. What kind of insurance do you recommend and what kind of price am I looking at?"

I`m not sure if I phrased this correctly, but he is now telling me the following:

"As for the detailing business we are running into some problems that we don`t think we can resolve with the various markets we have available. Erie was willing to write the home and business but only if the business was operated out of a detached structure on your property. I assumed you were doing this out of your attached garage. Please correct me if I`m wrong.