Post Thanks / Like

Tips on starting out

I introduced my self in the introductions forum and gave some background. I have been helping a friend that paints vehicles on the side for extra cash.(full time fireman) and have gained and intrest from him in paint care. I am very heavily considering starting to do buffing/wetsanding on the side for extra cash. I have some experience in using a 3" rotary buffer working with him but have not used a larger rotary or DA at all. What are you guys thoughts on this idea? Ever heard of anyone doing this type of thing or will I have to go full scale detail to get any buisness?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Tips on starting out

I`m not sure exactly what end of the business you are looking at going into. The wetsanding and paint finishing business or the appearance restoration (detailing) business. From what I know about wetsanding, you definitely will want something with a little more muscle than anyone I know to polish the paint afterwards. I don`t know a lot of guys who do that kind of thing with a DA, so a rotary would be my recomendation. With that being said, I`ve been in the detailing industry for ten years and have yet to use a rotary for daily detailing work. I stick with DA polishers because they are fool proof and I`m still a little chicken to go up a level.

Post Thanks / Like

I am looking more into the appearance restoration as I don`t want to cut into my friends buisness but I really have no intrest in detailing per say as far as interior. More targeting swirls, scratchs, waterspots, and overspray removal on the painted and glass surfaces.

Where the reference to wetsanding came from is someone I know has bad paint overspray from work and I don`t know if just buffing will remove it.

Post Thanks / Like