Post Thanks / Like

Detailing Company Problems

This thread is going to be long so I will try to condense it as much as possible. I recently started working at a detailing company who pride themselves on luxury automobile detailing. I have been detailing cars for a little over seven years now and recently have been working out of my parents garage detailing cars in my spare time. I have not marketed myself at all and have alot of people interested in having me detail their vehicles. My father works for a major company which would be a easy way to get clients, my personal trainer has already given my contact info to some of his clients, and I have detailed a few cars throughout my neighborhood so I feel I already have a small clientele built up.

My issue is, this company I work for is paying me $9.00 per hour plus tips, which is not bad but not great either. The coolest thing is their clientele base. I spent last Friday at Michael Redd`s house, NBA player, detailing all five of his cars. Pretty much everyone so far whose car`s I have detailed are multi-millionaires which is pretty crazy. I have been working there for two weeks and have noticed the current employees cut as many corners as possible. If its a light color car, no buffer is used cause they believe the scratches cannot be seen. Our claybar looks like it has been used on more than 20 or so cars, which I normally only use 1 bar for no more than 3 cars typically. Things like this I have noticed. They sell packages and only do what the client has payed for, nothing else. Now I always would look at a car, and no matter how bad it was or how long it took, I would go over every surface of the car and make it look the best I could. I am having an issue with them telling me to cut corners, plus the products they use sometimes are not applied right.