Post Thanks / Like

Local opportunity.....here`s the skinny

Hey all....

I`ve been lurking hereabouts for a few days trying to guage the general feeling / attitude among those who make detailing their full time gig.

My particular situation is as follows for those who are walking in the shoes I am about to step into. In general from my reading thus far it seems that the full timers here seem to be either real busy or on the verge of packing it in.

I am a local Contractor that focuses on communications with a healthy smattering of mechanical / welding services. My problem in these areas is that I am basically operating as a mobile contractor as my actual shop is 50 miles away and by extension so are my tools for the most part....shops loclly are non existant being as the economy here is bordering on a boom state.

In my industry there are many competitors with more sprouting every week it would seem. I am looking to focus my time and energy on a venture that has storefront and that would require alot less bouncing up the mountains and fighting for a piece of a pie baked primarily by the old boys network and served up in the backrooms of local government and established heavy hitters.

So......locally there is a detailing shop for sale owned currently by an established carpet cleaning company. The detailing end is something he has done on and off for years but has only recently started to market a little more alongside his carpet gig. It was supposed to be his wife`s hands on busines focus and shes has recently shattered the ball / socket of one of her shoulders. He has been alternating his days between his carpet gig and the detail shop; this is pushing him to burnout rapidly as the carpet thing is full time busy and the detail thing (i feel) would be but he has been slow playing it as he does not have the time to focus on the detailing.

He has decided to sell the detailing end.....I have all but decided to buy it.