Formerly TexasTB Tex Star Detail's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Hiring Employee(s) help.

I am at the point where I am in a hard place.
    Book 2.5 weeks solid. I cannot stand it anymore. I have a $700+ a month job I cannot take because I am too full.

It is a good thing, but a bad thing at the same time.
    Not sure if I want to hire a part timer right now, or just hire day labor for a couple of weeks to see how it goes. Then if it stays this busy, take the day laborer on part time.

The if I do hire part time, what are the steps I need to take? As long as they do not work 40 hours a week, I will not need insurance, workmans comp, etc,.... correct?
    Can I have them withhold their own taxes?
    Pay under the table for now?
    Help me out! I am a newb to this sort of thing, but am growing out of control right now!
    "In the business world, the rearview mirror is always clearer than the windshield."

a.k.a. Troy@DetailCity Troy@Protekt's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Hiring Employee(s) help.

Quote Originally Posted by TexasTB View Post
    Book 2.5 weeks solid. I cannot stand it anymore. I have a $700+ a month job I cannot take because I am too full.

Not sure if I want to hire a part timer right now, or just hire day labor for a couple of weeks to see how it goes. Then if it stays this busy, take the day laborer on part time.

The if I do hire part time, what are the steps I need to take? As long as they do not work 40 hours a week, I will not need insurance, workmans comp, etc,.... correct?
    Help me out! I am a newb to this sort of thing, but am growing out of control right now!
    I would avoid using a day laborer. I used a couple years ago and it was not worth it. Maybe it`s different in Texas, but in Florida day laborers are for the most part very unreliable, lazy, rough around the edges and a lot of times can`t drive. If none of that bothers you then go for it.