Post Thanks / Like
    How many of you add this service to your detailing company? is it hard to do? Can you go mobile with this service?

Post Thanks / Like
    I detail at a fixed location and offer window tinting to my customers. I found a local guy that will come right to my garage and do it at a discounted price so I can make some money on it. Window tinting is very tedious and takes a lot of practice to get good at, so it`s easier for me to just have someone come to my shop and tint the vehicle while I am detailing it. It usually takes no more than an hour for him to do it compared to about 3 hours for me to do it since I am not experienced at tinting. The way I see it is that I get paid a little extra for my detail without having to do any extra work besides making a phone call & setting up the appointment. Some day I would like to practice at tinting more, but I keep busy enough with details alone.

That'll buff right out! jimmybuffit's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    There is a tint shop literally just 40 feet away from me.

I don`t see that the skills are related. He used to detail, and now sends me his referrals.

I refer folks to him.... To put it in perspective, I don`t do car audio work either, altho, I suppose we could.

Seems to work this way.

I don`t want to be all things to all people.

Jim
    "If it was easy, everybody`d be doing it."
    www.jimmybuffit.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Look around. Most companies that do multiple, unrelated services are mediocre at all of them, at best. The main reason companies diversify is because they can`t survive on their main business and instead of concentrating on fixing it, they diversify.

As Warren Buffet says, "Diversify your portfolio, not your business."
    `06 Honda Ridgeline

Post Thanks / Like
    your right.

Post Thanks / Like
    my local tint shop does amazing tint jobs, he also details ouf his shop. His detail work is pretty average , but like i said the tint jobs are good