Thread: wetsanding

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello everyone. My name is Tino I am a mobile detailer in the Maryland area. I have been detailing for about 4 years I know how to clean a car inside and out, but The only one thing I need help on is wetsanding. When customers ask me to do it or if I see that the scratch is too much for me to coorect, I send them to the body shop. I want to have wetsanding a part of my services to increase profit. Also I cannot call myself a professional if I don`t know all aspects of detailing, because I am missing this one thing. I haven`t really practiced with it much, just on my car because it`s old. Any tips ???????:nixweiss

Post Thanks / Like
    I`m no expert by any means.. but I have had some wet sanding experience lately. (see my post under my name on "click and brag")

Get one of those 3M rubber pads, so you can constantly check your work to make sure that you haven`t gone too deep. After you made a few strokes, squeegy the soapy water away, blow on the area to dry it and check your progress. Angle your fingers at a 45 degree angle when sanding in a straight line to eliminate ridges from the space inbetween your fingers. Keep the pressure light and constant. I used 2000 grit.

If your car is a good practice car, keep practicing. Seriously. You can never have enough practice. The sides are different to work on than the flat surfaces. Find friends with marginal cars and offer to try to take out those scratches. By using different cars and different colored cars and different defects, you will become more proficient.

I would even try maybe two passes over a good area on your car without defects. Then use a rotory to remove the sanding marks. To me, that was the scariest part, wondering if I would be able to remove those marks. But actually thats the easy part. NOT going through the clearcoat is the hardest part. But go slow, stop early and check your progress.

Post Thanks / Like