Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Detailing Rottweiler 1 Clean WS6's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hey guys!!

I was wondering if any of you have experienced this phenomenon. I have a few repeat clients (usually a wax package on a quarterly basis) that do not tip. They obviously are happy with my work since they keep calling me. I`ve had a few over two years now...yet not a single tip. I`ve gotten referral business off of some...yet no tip. They call me to come clean their cars when my schedule says they are due...yet no tip. I`m always happy to earn their business and will always do the best I can on their vehicles...it just seemed odd to me.

Have any of you other pro`s had this happen??

Mike
    Mike
    Sweating the Details Mobile Detailing Service
    Owner/Operator

Post Thanks / Like
    While not being a pro I used to wash cars weekly for old neighbors and they always tipped me. Maybe they think you added in your tip with the price or somethin.

Post Thanks / Like
    I wouldn`t consider myself a pro, but I`ve never received a tip, either.

Post Thanks / Like
    It really depends I think on the customer. I think a lot of customers probably feel that since you are doing the work yourself there is no need to tip. I usually tip someone for a job well done but also because most of the money they are making isn`t going to the person, but the buisiness` owner. Since it`s usually not the same with mobile detailers I would imagine that the customer figures you already make what you want to charge. With that said, I had one really nice lady tip me $20 for $100 of work. I`ve also had jobs where I went over and above and received no tip. When I worked at a kayak shop and dealt with tourists day in and out I figured I`d get tipped since I helped them get into boats, gear up, etc. In 1.5 years I was tipped only once, go figure.

Post Thanks / Like