Post Thanks / Like
    I posted this thread on DC and was informed by a DC member that I should post this thread over here. I realize that there are probably more hand only detailers on this forum, and probably the most famous hand only detailer around... Scottwax

Keep in mind I am not attacking hand only detailers, but I am wondering what is some of the advantages of being a "hand only" detailer. Here is a copy of the thread...

Professional Hand Detailers...

I have been detailing professionally since 2001, and I have experienced some incredible cars that have made me drool, and I have also detailed some SUV`s and mini vans that have looked and smelled bad enough to "make a billgoat puke" (thanks Rambo).

PAINT...MOST OLDER CARS both clearcoated and singlestage require extensive WORK !!! And I mean work with the rotary after claying to bring most finishes back to as close to factory new as possible. I have tendonitis in my left forearm to prove it !!!

Now, here is my question ??? How does a hand detailer achieve the same results as a detailer that utilizes a machine to correct paint imperfections !!! How about earning a respectible dollar !!! I am in very good condition physically for my age (34) and I could not dream of hand detailing a finish that is more than 5 years old !!! If I were to detail the black 1994 E320 I detailed this week by hand it would have taken me 4X as long and I do not believe I would have achieved the same results.

I am not looking to blast hand detailers, but I cannot understand why one would not use a machine that is in my opinion more efficient and effective than anything that is done by hand. So...

Hand detailers please explain !!!

Thanks !!!

"Like New Autos"

www.likenewautos.net

Howell, NJ
    No buff to tuff

Post Thanks / Like