Post Thanks / Like
    Hello. I have been operating a detail shop in Kentucky for about 3 years now. I offer the basics (hand wash, hand wax, vacuum) and also have an extractor. I think I do a very good job on the interior of the vehicles, but I need some help on knowing how to detail the outside (waxing). All I do now is hand wax...no pre-cleaners or layers. I want my customers to have nice looking cars on the outside.....like it just come out of the showroom. Can anyone tell me what equipment and supplies I need to make customers vehicles look great. Also can anyone give me the steps to follow to wax a vehicle. Any help I get will be very appreciated.

I want to be the best detailer in my area. HELP!
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LTZ

Post Thanks / Like
    I don`t know if its been mentioned before, but I would suggest getting the Autopia eBook first. You can get it by clicking the store button at the top of the page. That is a fine guide to teach you technique on applying polishes and waxes.

Personally I don`t know how you can opperate a shop for 3 years without having any polishing equipment. Are your services primarily just for people looking for interior details? I`ve heard of shops like that. Expanding to offer more exterior services is a great idea and will definitely bring in more business.

You`ll need to get a machine. Probably just a random orbital polisher till you get the hang of it, or you could jump right in and get a rotary. It just depends on what services you plan to offer. Tell us a little more about what your plans are.

Post Thanks / Like