Post Thanks / Like
    Hello All.

I am new to the board and have been reading through many posts over the past few days. Lots of great information here from you all! I do, however, have a few specific questions:

I am a college student starting up a mobile detailing business for the summer here in Minnesota. I have worked for a professional detailing company and am a car enthusiast as I am sure many of you are as well so I have a few cars under my belt. I have a pretty nice flyer made up with the two detail packages that I have decided to offer. The first package is basically a wash, cleaner wax, interior vacuum and wipe down, wheel/tire cleaning&dressing, window cleaning. $59 cars $69 for SUVs. The next package I have includes all this except a 2 step polish&wax, carpet&upohlstery shampoo, crevice cleaning,etc. $89 for cars and $99 for SUVs. I checked around w/ other local detail shops and set my prices lower, especially on the 2 step package. I will be doing my services either at the customer`s home or business, or pick up the vehicle and drive it to my house to do the work. Now to my questions....

What advice would you give for obtaining new customers? I have been handing out flyers in mailboxes. (Not actually "in" the mailbox though) Also I have talked to people if they are out i their yard/driveway. Any tips/ideas/marketing "secrets" you can give would be great!

How do you all deal with the issue of soliciting? Where can I and can`t I hand my flyers out?

I don`t have enough money to purchase products such as Zaino/Klasse right now so I am sticking w/ Meguiars/Mothers/Eagle 1. What are some "must have" products that can be purchased @ Auto Stores/WalMart, etc?

What products are better for dark cars and what products are better for light cars?

What extra supplies are a good idea to have that may not immediately come to mind?

I do plan on getting insurance to protect myself in this summer business venture.