Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    How many of you do this as your main or only source of income? Do you find it hard to find customers who are willing to pay for the type of detailing discussed here (full clay, multi-step polish, sealant/wax, full interior, etc.)? Or, do most of your customers just want a basic wash or something in between? I`m just trying to get an idea of what to expect when I first start out doing this professionally.

Post Thanks / Like
    I do it by the hour, and almost always do a full detail. I mean most cars need it anyways.

Post Thanks / Like
    I have been doing this since 1989 and 2006 was my toughest year yet. Mobile guys are aaaaallllll over the place!!

If 2007 is the same as last year I am going to close up shop and move on.
    The second mouse gets the cheese!

Post Thanks / Like
    do it little by little now so when you "start" fulltime you can have a client base. If you do that then word of mouth should kick in and like they say if you do a good job word will spread, if you do a bad job word will spread a lot quicker. You wont always find people wanting to pay for a full detail cause there are a lot of people that are either cheap, think you are trying to sell something they dont need, dont care etc. I have a client now whose always looking for a discount on just a wash (people being cheap) and I`m getting tired of it to the point where I`m about to tell him to go to the local car wash. One person I spoke with about a full detail (with clay) thought I was just another sales man (people thinking I`m trying to sell them something they dont need) and its irratating cause I`m not trying to screw them, I`m trying to help them but they wont understand. Others will be fine with a wash once or twice a month (people that dont care). Just start out now slowly and like a said, build your client list. good luck

Post Thanks / Like