Post Thanks / Like
    As a professional, I hate detailing big cars. Nothing`s worse than a black Escalade ESV, Excursion, etc. My $/hour is always works out to be less on these monsters, as I just can`t bring myself to skimp. You just can`t charge enough...sure you tack on an extra $40 or $50 for being oversize, but now way does compensate for the extra 3 or 4 hours it takes to do an intenzive 2 step polish process. You know if you charged the extra $150 or $200 to properly compensate...they`d say "no way"; most people with small black cars aren`t willing to pay for the regamine to properly care for black, but even less would be willing to pay the premium to care for a giant black vehicle.

Did a two-step polish + interior on a black Escalade ESV the other day (and I really did a good job because it really needed a 3-step), and trust me...I hooked this thing up inside an out, and of course I was a few hours over budget on the stupid thing (I only charged $60 extra), and then the person had the audicity to nit-pick the job with a fine-tooth comb - "couldn`t you get that stain out...what about those white things on the paint (rock chips ). And of course, no tip. On the other hand, I just did a 7 year old black Z3 that had never, ever been detailed...lady paid for 3-step, and I was able to do a bunch of extras like provide 4-step, dye handles black again, clay rims, etc....earning me a $60 tip.

Post Thanks / Like
    We all need to vent, and i feel your pain.

but part of being successful is to evalute the vehicle and giving realistic expectations.

Based on the conditon of the vehicle you can explain the defects and let them know what % of factory condition you can return it to based on those defects.

Say the paint is heavily swirled out, Interior is trashed.. Talk to the customer and give them an 80% and deliver a 90%.

People do understand that not all damage will be removed but will be drastically improved.

Post Thanks / Like