Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    I’m currently in my final year at Quinnipiac University (AACSB Accredited) in Hamden, CT. In my Management-490 class we are acting as business consultants for local small businesses in need of a little extra help from business students. The problems have a pretty decent range, but the two core areas of emphasis are:

Websites

One of the most crucial communication tools in a small business is an informative, professional, and well-put together website. Before you jump on me for my dated appearance of my site, I will confess to it. My website really needs a facelift, but I have been concentrating on my full-time job (Student ) and future career. After doing a bit of searching on website building, I came up with this program for building a website:

http://www.v-com.com/product/Web_Easy_Pro_Home.html - Web Easy Professional 6

Getting hits to your website is also a crucial area to not overlook. On a recent thread, some members mentioned using hidden “keywords†to get hits from search engines. However, if discovered, you could be on your way to bans-ville from Google/Yahoo. I suggest taking a look at this tutorial on website optimization.

http://wordsinarow.com/seo.html - Search Engine Optimization

Marketing

A successful marketing plan is what fuels a small business, but it breaches far past advertisements. A marketing mix consists of:

Target Market - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Target_market

Product - http://www.marketingteacher.com/Lessons/lesson_plc.htm

Place - http://www.marketingteacher.com/Less...sson_place.htm

Price - http://www.marketingteacher.com/Less...on_pricing.htm

Promotion - http://www.marketingteacher.com/Less..._promotion.htm

Part of being a successful business is being competitive, so this information is just to get you started. Use it how you like and if clarification is needed, just ask.

Post Thanks / Like
    Can you elaborate on the context of, “being competitive�

Post Thanks / Like