Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    Im at a point where I feel that I should pursue detailing as a career. I am currently fed up with my job and I am about ready to get serious about it. I am no pro but I am very familiar with the basics (no buffing exp). My question is how much should I expect to make detailing cars at a local Dodge dealer? I am currently only able to work nights so this job will fit into my schedule on a part time basis. I figure this would be the perfect opportunity for me to get experience that will be valuable for future endeavors.Thanks for any and all replies.

Post Thanks / Like
    about $7.00 p hour at dealership.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by scottabir
    about $7.00 p hour at dealership.

That`s about right.

One thing to remember though, a dealership may not be the perfect place to learn detailing given that most dealerships have a tendency of doing rush jobs and assembly line work.
    "If you want to be rich - work. If you want to be clever - study. But if you want to be happy - do what you really like"

Post Thanks / Like
    I`d avoid the dealership job to be honest with you. Dealership detailers aren`t paid much at all, and on top of that, they have to:

1.) Push out many cars per day, so speed is key, and

2.) Only have to make the car look good on the lot. You know the "shady" stereotype that dealerships have? There`s a reason they have that. Instead of properly correcting the paint, you`ll just be making it look good, which usually involves heavy glazes instead of buffing the paint to perfection.

In my opinion, all that a job at a dealership is going to give you is poor detailing skills. You`d be MUCH better off sticking around autopia and learning detailing from us. Learning from a dealership is going to be a huge step in the wrong direction.

Post Thanks / Like
    What they said. Personally, I`d never hire someone who learned how to detail at a dealership. Too hard to undo the bad habits.