Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Life with PPF so far.

Disclaimer: I’m not a pro by any means, just a curious guy w/ regards to coatings and detailing ‘stuff’. The thoughts below are what I *think* but have no firm foundation behind them aside from my personal experiences. That is to say, don’t take my word for anything but rather read, research and contact professionals when in doubt. You’ll likely get much better info than what some rambling guy on the Internet thinks. Caveat Emptor, as they say!

Why PPF?

While I’ve messed about with some coatings for the past 2-3 years, wanted to step up to the ‘next’ level of protection with a new car we planned on purchasing in Spring of 2019, a black 2019 Corvette. Our previous black Corvette, a 2004 which we’ve owned since new and driven 65k miles, was really torn up from rock chips accrued during it’s 15 year life, stuff you can’t correct out no matter what ya use. As this was planned to be one of the last ‘fun cars’ we purchased before shuffling off this mortal coil, wanted to go ‘all in’ on something that interested me (paint protection) and possible afforded ease of maintenance.

The last time I re-did the 2004 it wasn’t but a week or so later that a rock on the freeway bounced off of the hood and took a nice chunk outta it, major depression ( Rock Chip Sadness ). Would PPF have saved that? I dunno but that experience coupled with the general wear and tear of road use made PPF a viable option for this go around. I also wanted to enjoy the experience of having a car professionally done, perhaps driven by my ever-increasing laziness.

With the decision made, a few things worth noting regarding PPF vs other forms of protection, in my mind anyway.

Pros:

- Increased protection from road debris

- Increased self-healing capabilities over` claimed self-healing coatings

Cons:

-Definitely not a DIY kinda prep/application, at least not in my garage