So, anyone with leather sport seats with the big side bolsters knows the leather finish on the bolsters tends to wear. For whatever reason, it’s just a vulnerable place. BMW M owners have been dealing with this for 20 years + and that’s kinda just how it goes.

Albeit not terrible, it’s happened to the driver’s side outer back bolster on my 2008 M Roadster. Other than that, leather is in really nice shape. It’s been like that for years. About 5 years ago or so I paid some leather dude to “fix it”. It was ok - but I always wanted a way to touch it up myself.

Again not bad, but annoying to me. You can see some scuzz where previous repair was done:

I tried a kit a few years ago from a company called Furniture Clinic in the UK. Looking back - the kit sucked for this kinda thing. Too much adjustment for color/sheen you were expected to do at home by mixing stuff. I am no artist & couldn’t get it right. I just wanted something that was a 90% fix, easy to use, works on “black”, & no mixing.

For whatever reason, this seems to fall out of the common realm of detailing - even though leather touch up is super easy if you have the right product. The problem is obtaining the right product. Most detailing companies don’t touch this. Could be because many colors / shades are out there. I dunno.

So, I found this stuff on Amazon. $15 delivered. It had good reviews.

What is it? It’s a small bottle of concentrated leather cleaner that seems like APC & a leather dye/paint. You can use it to color leather or just touch it up. It’s as simple as cleaning the leather and applying it with a sponge.

Directions:

Stuff looks like this:

After: