Post Thanks / Like

Massive pad/application confusion (rookie)

Hey guys, I’m extremely new to this whole thing so please forgive me for my ignorance. I’ve spent many hours reading through this forum and have done piles of searching but can’t quite find the answers I’m looking for, or at least in terms super dumbed down for me. The only time I’ve used my new DA (CG Torx 10FX) and the pads that came with the kit (hexlogic orange, white and black) were with CG products v32, v34, v36,v38. I now understand how many different brands are available and some of the pros and cons but this is my first run at it.
    I’m trying not to ramble but I’m also trying to put as much info as I can here.
    SO, My confusion. As I’ve just read, it’s not a good idea to use a single pad for the entire vehicle at one point when using a compound. Does this rule apply when using a light pad (black or white) with a finishing polish? What about DA applied sealants/waxes/glazes?

Is it necessary to do a full dawn soap wash on your pads after each panel? Or, is the cotton towel/air gun sufficient?

Is my understanding correct that at least relative to the CG pad grades/colours, the MF pads out there would be even more aggressive than the yellow hexlogic?

I honestly have piles of stuff written down, and piles of questions that I’m trying to find answers for before I bug everyone.. I’ve used my DA on a hood from a wrecker but am terrified of diving into my car until I know some answers here. Again, sorry if I just suck at searches.

Kevin

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Massive pad/application confusion (rookie)

You have arrived at the best place. Welcome aboard

I do have and use some of the products you talk about.

I`ve used as little as 3 white pads to apply Glaze, running on & wiping with a towel at each panel
    You can add swirls like that, while you are trying to remove them. 3 would be a min.