Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Dual action, your choices are:

Makita, Flex and the PC types which one IS the best and why; lets disregard the pricing and type about the machine only.

I would appreciate comments as to which is easier to control, which is easier to listen to and which does the most correction though the use will be on surfaces which are in very good to excellent condition.

This will be my last machine purchase, don`t want to choose the wrong one; I am not a pro so near continuous duty capability is not necessary though I do have (unfortunately) a badly built rv, 24` which I do like to keep looking as good as possible-when doing the coach it can take three full 8 hour days so performance on large vertical panels, (fiberglass gelcoat) of course is very important.

Tnks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Dual action, your choices are:

Flex 3401 has more power for correction but is not "easiest to controle".

Not sure you can get both qualities in one machine although I dont know about the makita.

Maybe the makita is a winner ?

Post Thanks / Like

Get a forced rotating polisher. I kick myself for not buying one in the first place. Makita has a nice one out now that is forced and also random. Flex is always good, but you`ll be emptying out everything in your pockets for one...
    Get your shine on!

NorCal.. Avatar = Swan Lake, Hallstatt, Austria
    Post Thanks / Like

I have used the Flex 3401VRG for several years in my business, but it gets the easy work while my Rotaries ( Makita 9227c, Flex PE14-250) get the full on correction work because they do it much faster.

The Flex 3401VRG gets a lot of not so positive feedback because it rotates counter-clockwise, while all other machines pretty much go clockwise direction.

I have found that if you step down the pad size of the Flex 3401VRG to the 5" or so pads, it is much much easier to handle even in its counter-clockwise rotation.