Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Degreasers for paint prep

Waiting on some products to arrive to attempt my first ever DA cut / polish and a paint protection system. (Coating, sealant wax, etc)

I have a wipe out spray coming for after polishing and I have an iron remover prior to the clay step....but I have been reading where it is recommended to use a de-greaser such as P21S total auto wash or Optimum power clean prior to the intital wash. For a weekend detailer is this step necessary? (I know that is a very subjective question). So maybe I should say what difference will I notice if I perform this step and what difference will I notice if I skip this step prior to my wash?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Degreasers for paint prep

I have never used any product before washing the car when doing a full wash/clay/polish/LSP detail and have not noticed any issues or the inability to get the car fully clean. Unless the vehicle is horribly dirty, a quality car shampoo should get the surface clean and ready for the next steps.
    Drop by to see the latest at The Car Geek Blog

Post Thanks / Like

I guess I’ll also say this

If this is done to help in lessening any marring of the paint from the clay bar step...well I neglected by paint forever so my entire car is currently a test surface, so to speak

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Likes Mary B liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

I do "strip" washes before doing corrections - either a RTU product (Adam`s Strip Wash, CarPro Reset, etc.) or just adding 2-3 oz of APC to my regular 2 bucket wash. There should not be a need to wash the car twice. The strip wash does a `deep` cleaning, but how it affects the clay step will depend on what kind of contamination is on the paint - e.g. if there is overspray it will not affect that, but it will help remove `traffic film`.

Post Thanks / Like

The Valugard ABC system ought to do a very thorough job of stripping before polishing.