Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: glad to be here

Post Thanks / Like

glad to be here

hello all

Im new to the auto detailing scene and im hoping to learn the basics and the proper technique. Let me first start off by explaining the situation i got myself in. I just bought a car thats been sitting for a while which has medium oxidation and water spots.

I would like to think of myself as mechanicly inclined but when it comes to auto detailing im in over my head as i came to realize the hard way. I ran out to autozone and picked up a 7`` sander/polisher which appears to be made by great neck. It came with a backing pad and bonnet which didnt work to great.

I then ordered a hook and loop backing plate and these expensive foam pads from auto geek but have yet to try them out due to the fact that im not even sure if i should use this circular polisher or something else.

Im in need of some good direction tips and information to bring this paint back. Im ready to slow down and get the tools and preperation to do this thing right.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: glad to be here

Welcome to the site from Sonoma County CA

When you say sander and polisher...I don`t think this is a orbital buffer..like a porter cable or is it?....Once we know that then some suggestions can take place...sounds like you are going to need to clay, or use a paint cleaner...maybe both..depending on how bad it is....some pics would also be helpful!
    Old Enough To Know Better, Too Stupid To Care....

Dave`s Detailing
    Sonoma County, CA

a.k.a. Troy@DetailCity Troy@Protekt's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

You really should practice using a rotary polisher before using it on a car you care about.

Oxidation and water spots can usually be handled with a dual action polisher which is much easier and safer to start out with.

Popst some pics if you can. i would like to see what your talking about.

Post Thanks / Like