Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Noob from upstate NY.....Greetings!

Greetings from rural upstate NY! I’m a complete noob in this arena and I’m looking forward to learning about detailing.
    I’m not sure if these questions belong in this section. If not please point me in the right direction…..
    We have 2 Toyota Tacomas, both Pyrite Mica (a very interesting color as it seems to take on the hue of the surrounding environment). I want to keep these trucks looking their best but they are used and not just mall cruisers. Hauling hay, dump runs, towing kayaks and transporting gear are just a few of their chores.
    I have an unusual problem (not for this area) with our water supply. It has an extremely high mineral content AND has natural gas in it. So much so that I could ignite the water faucet if I wanted to. Obviously, it’s not potable and we get our drinking water from a local farm.
    Because of the water issue I’ve been going to a not so local DIY car wash as it’s a better option but it only does a fair job. Can I wash them at home as long as I dry them immediately without consequence?
    Once this issue is resolved, my goal is to protect the paint and keep it looking it’s best without making it a huge production. I realize that you get what you sow and I’m ok with that. I’m not looking for show quality.
    As for any post washing treatment, I’m open to all suggestions. I do have a HF DA/polisher (modified) and have used it on another vehicle with very good results, but I’m hesitant to use it on the Tacomas. I’d rather learn to care for them by hand and then learn how to properly use the DA. I thought that this would be the best and safest approach.
    Any thoughts and advice will be greatly appreciated…..
    As far as pets go, 13 cats, 2 dogs (Lab & Great Dane), 2 rabbits, 3 goats and 1 goose. Too many names to list………

All Good Medicine,
    Crow
    Likes Stokdgs, rlmccarty2000 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like