Thread: Hello all

Post Thanks / Like

Hello all

I have a 2003 Porsche Carrera Cabriolet in Orient Red Metallic that I purchased this summer. I have had little experience with detailing, although like my vehicles to look good and work well. I`ve tried my first run at polishing last year on my white Honda Ridgeline. White is pretty forgiving, the red on my "new to me" Porsche is very different and shows every swirl. I plan to buy a random action buffer (leaning towards Porter Cable at this point) and take on the task before the weather gets too bad hear and I have to store the car away for winter.

Paint is pretty good, smooth feeling, but swirl marks are showing (likely due to my ham handed washing). I clayed my Honda in the spring as it was showing some rough spots. Worked a treat! Finished with carnauba wax. Hindsight now tells me I should have sealed it first, but next time. The Porsche is smooth feeling so I don`t "think" I need to clay it, but I do have to deal with the swirls.

Looking forward to reading and learning lots around here. Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Joe

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Hello all

welcome to AF. if I am going to correct a painted surface, I always clay it first. it`s easy, doesn`t take long to do. and ensures a good surface to begin a correction. I am always surprised when I clay what feels like a smooth surface. a pc is a good choice and has been a workhorse polisher for years, but there are a host of better polishers out there and their prices reflect it. I like griot`s garage 6"da, very powerful and the company really stands behind it`s lifetime warranty. learn to use a two bucket method when washing to help reduce your chances of adding swirls in the process. use good microfiber drying towels and have a host of good microfiber towels for polish/wax removal. autopia car care has many excellent detailing packages to get you started or just give them a call for some good advise. remember to have fun.