Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Total Noob who wants to get started

Hey everyone....wish i`d known about this site years ago.....i`ve been using Zaino products by hand for the last couple years, and although content with the outcome, i`ve never been blown away. I live in Atlanta, and am having an internal debate with myself, that you guys might be able to shed some light on:

Do I a) hire a professional to do a complete once over on the paint on my car, or b) invest in all the right equipment and do it myself the first time, and hereafter?

Details about what i need done. I have just purchased a Black 2002 Volvo V70 T5. Love the car, but the previous owner was less than generous when it came to car care. Here is the list of things i need fixed:
    1) Swirl marks - zaino was not enough to get them out
    2) Sap impurities - i tried to clay bar the surface this weekend, but it didn`t do a very good job. The paint still feels very rough.
    3) A couple of spots of light scratches, that i think can be polished out. I can feel them with my finger nail, but i don`t think they`re deep enough to require any sort of touch-up
    4) Couple of scratches that defintiely need touch up. The previous owner jsut filled them in with matching paint, but did not sand them down and blend them in at all. I`ve been reading up on how to do this myself....seems doable, but also a lot of work.
    5) Don`t know if it`s possible, but there are one or two scratches in the glass of the moon roof.....can these be polished out?

I could use all the help you guys can offer, and if you think i can do this on my own, i`d love to get a list from you as to what i would need to buy (and about how much i`d be looking to invest.)

Thanks, and great site......

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Total Noob who wants to get started