Post Thanks / Like
    First off I am a total newb to polishing gel coat

What I`ve got right now:

2001 Maxum 2500scr needing some work. There is a small amount of chalk on the gunwhales, the rest of gel coat is ok. After doing some reading it sounds like I need to start with a wool pad and some heavy compound. I`ve got a Dewalt dwp849x on the way, I have not ordered any compound or pads yet.

This might be a dumb question but if I start on the gunwhales with wool and heavy compound... how do I know when I`m done? I mean what sort of finish should I be looking to achieve before I move on to the next step. Should I be looking for any reflection at all from a heavy cut or just a smooth clean surface?

Other than the gunwhales there is some reflection in the gel coat. Should I only hit the areas with no reflection with the heavy cut?

I guess I`m asking how do you guys gauge where you start and when do you decide to move to a finer compound.

Post Thanks / Like
    tzw, You really only need to use a heavy compound if there is a lot of oxidation or chalk on the surface of the gelcoat. The gunwhales or gunnels are usually neglected on many boats, so this isn`t surprising that they`re in bad shape, compared to to the rest.

As far as the compounding step, you are just removing the oxidation. You are ready for polish when the compounding step has made the surface glossy again, it will be reflective. It should also be very slick to the touch, and it should have an even consistent look while viewing it at an angle. As for touch, think dry erase board vs chalk board. Sometimes if you finish prematurely, you can see some hazy or slightly foggy looking patches in an otherwise shiny area of gelcoat. The patchy areas may benefit from further compounding. The Polishing step will remove any compounding haze from the wool pad and compound much like on an car`s paint.