Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Mothers Polish/Wax with pads?

Good Afternoon

I am preparing to detail my car for the spring. It`s a Subaru Legacy in Lapis Blue/Dark Blue. It does have Mothers carnauba wax, as part of their 3 step system on it already. I am new to detailing and did everything by hand but it does have minor scratches - the type that straight on, you don`t see but in the sun at an angle, you do see if you specifically look. Now I`m looking to invest in the PC8424XP.

1. I`ve spent a good amount of time on here researching pads. I see charts with the differences between pads, but what is the difference between the wool pads, foam pads, knitted wool pads?

2. What`s the difference between the different foam pad types, i.e. CCS, HDO, Flat, Better Edge, SDO, Hydro-Tech, Cross Cut, Double Sided, Waffle Pro, and Tufted? Whew... lol.

3. Which pad type would be good with the Mother`s products? I have their paste wax

4. Is the PC really much louder/vibrate more then the Griots 9?

5. The car does have a few curves and such, will the pads work for that, or just on flat surfaces?

6. Any other tips/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks everyone

Serious no BS kinda guy forrest@mothers's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Mothers Polish/Wax with pads?

Good morning. All the pads you referenced have specific uses, mostly with a rotary buffer.

For a Porter Cable (and I`m assuming you meant 7424 and not 8424), you can do well with just a few basic pads. I like the CCS pads. You can use an orange for defect removal and black for applying your wax. A more aggressive approach would be a yellow pad for compounding, a white for polishing and then the black for applying your wax. (Note it`s not ideal to use a machine with a paste wax.)

Vibration and noise are similar (to me, at least) between the 7424 and the GG9. Both are nice machines.