Post Thanks / Like

Unconventional Marketing and Advertising

Hi,

I have 16+ years of auto detailing experience but only have had my own business for the past several years.

I started with a $750.00 + utilties shop which consumed a lot of my profit not to mention a few rough winters that only my car lot clients saved me!

Now I`ve switched to a fully mobile set up with an indoor location as needed.

During the first year I struggled with keeping costs as low as possible and found creative ways to market and advertise.

I started with all my investment in the shop and the thought of if you build it they will come mentality. I was wrong!

I of course had the basic start up advertising stuff - business cards, t-shirts, flyers and even pens and after a few months seen I needed more but I didnt have much more money to put in. So, I searched for the best way to get the most bang for my buck.

Yes, I did the whole Craigslist ad thing and guess what? So did dozens of other "detailers", I placed a small ad in a local paper with 2 responses in a month,

I had better success with doing door knob hangers in better neighborhoods (they were a little pricey but well worth it - out of 1000 hangers I got 50 customers) PLEASE note that usually you need to get a permit from your local town office to distribute hangers and NEVER hang them or place them in a mailbox!

I found a site called NextDoor.com and I have gained over 100 customers in the past year and never had to pay a dime to list my service. NextDoor targets your local neighborhoods which was perfect for my mobile business.