Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Polisher for Novice...

Hi to all...

First will state that i am a newbie using Polishers but have been polishing my cars manually but want to move on as it is a lot of time consuming which i don`t have now.

I have been doing a lot of readings on Polishers and dialed it down to the Groit`s Garage 6" with a 5" back plate. I will be using this only on my cars which are Ford Explorer 2011, Ford Mustang GT 2019 and Nissan 350Z 2004. I consider that my paints are very good as i use to manual polish them every 2 months.

My main question is: Should i really go with the Groits or should i spend a little more and get a Rupes or any other suggestion and how are they comparable with vibration and noise?

I don`t want to buy twice but maybe it is not worth the investment. Thanks for your honest suggestion.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Polisher for Novice...

wcharon- Welcome to Autopia!

Short answer: I`d buy the GG Boss15 and use their pads/polishes.

Longer answer: If you`re doing OK manually other than the time expenditure, I`d get either stick with the GG6 or buy their Boss15. I only have one Rupes polisher (and it`s probably not the one you`re considering) so I might not be the best guy to comment on them, but IMO if you want to spend more than the GG6 I would not go the Rupes route.

If you want to try a somewhat off-brand approach, there are some imported polishers that some here consider All That, and that cost a lot less than name brand units. While I *suspect* that they`re fine, I myself would rather patronize Griot`s.