Post Thanks / Like
    Ive been doing things by hand for about 3 years. I currently have a mazda speed3 and bmw 328i both white that have some mild swirls.

As a beginner, what machine should i be looking at? I am also a bit confused on which pads i should start with for these cars. Any tips? Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like
    I look at getting a Pc kit to start with from autogeek or one of the other online places.That gives you just about everything you need to start with and get the job done right.

Porter Cable 7424 XP Dual Action Polisher - dual action orbital car polisher, car care kits, buffer kits, PC 7424,7424XP, 7424 XP, porter cable

heres a link to a few Pc kits.
    04 cobra mystichrome Sold new home in AZ.

Post Thanks / Like
    look into getting a PCXP, G110v2 or Griots 6" random orbital. personally, i would buy the machine by itself and then buy the pads seperate. the problem with kits is they include some things you may not use, and you can use the money on other things that you will. Detailed Image has sales and deals going on all the time and also carry the lake country Flat pads in 4", 5.5" and 6.5" sizes...

Post Thanks / Like
    I think I am going to go with the 7424xp and maybe try something else later on.

My issue is I am unsure of the pads i should be starting with. I am not sure how soft mazda and bmw paint is. Both cars have some mild swirls. It seems that my best bet would be to start with an orange pad and step it down to a white pad? Do i need something else for my LSP?

Post Thanks / Like
    as mentioned.. DetailedImage has the lake country pads and to start, pick up three each of both the orange and white 5.5" flat pads...

Buffer Pads Products - Detailed Image

Administrator
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here`s an article on the different types of machines,

http://www.autopia.org/forum/autogee...g-project.html

Regardless of where you buy any DA Style polisher, here`s a couple of videos that cover how to use one to remove swirls...