Post Thanks / Like
    I just ordered a PC 7336 (should be arriving today) for use on my Silver Grey `04 BMW 325xi. This is my first time attempting machine polishing. I was originally one of those clueless people who thought you didn`t wax clear coat... but I have seen the light!

:think2

I`ve been doing stuff by hand but I have a bunch of scratches and scuff marks I want to get out and the "by hand" scratch removers aren`t working. I figured I`d rather spend $300 buying my own equipment/supplies rather than paying the same amount for someone to do it just once.

I have an Orange, White, and Black 6.5" pad along with Optimum Compound and Optimum Polish.

I`m not sure what happened, but it looks like someone brushed my driver side with a Christmas tree (not the case, but my best description). Tiny scratches on the driver side doors in various directions. I don`t have any photos handy, but while the scratches don`t look deep, I can feel them slightly if I rub my finger nail over them. There are also some scuff marks on the roof (looks like the previous owner rested boxes or something on top).

Give my equipment and supplies... how should I begin? I was thinking of starting with the compound and orange pad for the scratches, then following with the white and polish. Or, perhaps just start with the orange and polish first to see if I really need the compound at all. I simply don`t have a feel for what each pad/compound/polish combination is capable of.

Also, how do I deal with two tiny scratches on the face of the painted door handle? Is it safe to apply the PC to such a narrow, slightly curved surface? I tried Scratch X on them (by hand) but while it diminished their appearance it didn`t get rid of them.

Thanks for any help you can provide... just trying to ease my mind to build some confidence.

Post Thanks / Like