Post Thanks / Like
    Hi,

I am just getting started with using a buffer on my car. Someday I may buy a PC but for now I would like to get started with a less expensive tool and upgrade when I find that I am using it more or need more features. I bought this Skil Sander / Polisher tonight, it came with a wax applicator and buffing pad for $40. It has a 2.6 amp motor and a fixed speed of 12,000 OPM.

Is there any reason that I should not use this tool to get started? Am I likely to damage the paint with it?

Initially I am hoping to apply and remove wax in the future I may want to use a fine polish.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

http://www.skil.com/Products/Tools/N...htm?id=7490-01

The limited manual is at http://www.skil.com/NR/rdonlyres/eqp...+2-03+7490.pdf

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi BruceWard...

I would be quite hesitant about the 12,000 OPM fixed speed on the Skil. I would think that the Skil could actually generate enough heat to burn paint. Plus, it doesn`t give you the flexibility to apply different products like waxes, sealants, compounds.

I would reconsider returning the Skil and saving up for the PC. The PC is a very user friendly power tool which really does wonders. Plus it is backed by many Autopians who have tested and gave it a seal of approval. And there are many more options as far as pads and backing plates. Plus the PC will allow you to work a larger area.

This is just my opinion.

With Aloha,

Ranney

Post Thanks / Like