Post Thanks / Like

Foam vs Wool vs Microfiber Pads

I`m an amateur enthusiast who has been using a full range of 6" and 3" LC foam pads on my PC 7424 for years now. But I often see comments and discussions that include the use of wool pads and microfiber pads. Can someone please give me a quick tutorial in the differences, and why one might choose a wool or microfiber pd over a foam pad? Are there similar color coded levels of aggressiveness with wool and microfiber pads? Are these pads more intended for professional detailers who face a wider variety of paint correction challenges?
    TIA, I look forward to your thoughts.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Foam vs Wool vs Microfiber Pads

I have limited and more recent experience with wool pads, specifically the newer Rupes yellow-medium and blue-coarse wool pads and I find them to correct very well and finish down fairly well. These are now my favorite pads for medium to coarse corrections. The big advantage of wool is that it stays cool better than microfiber but especially foam. Downside is you need to clean more often as the fibers get matted down. However, another upside is that you can blow out the fibers with compressed air, which restores them, cools them, and removes debris such as clear coat and spent polish. A quick hit with compressed air to rejuvenate the pad and then a quick hit with a pad brush (I like the Rupes pad brush best) and the wool pad is ready for more very quickly. I usually need less wool pads for correcting a car as the compressed air removes a lot of debris that usually embeds deeper into a foam pad. Notice there aren`t many "fine" wool pads as the fibers often leave some telltale marks and not always but often needed to be followed up with a fine foam finishing pad for a final gloss. But depending on the paint (hardness and color), the Rupes yellow wool pad can do a full correction by itself.