Post Thanks / Like

How hard is VW paint?

I am new to detailing and recently bought a PC 7424XP DA to help a friend rid his Lapiz Blue Golf R of swirls and scratches. On Saturday we attacked them with the PC, 5" Chemical Guys Orange Hex Logic pads, and Chemical Guys V36 polish. That didnt improve the situation much, but another friend who stopped by had some V34 compound with him, so we tried that next. The more aggressive V34 did better, but still not nearly as well as I had hoped. We would have tried a yellow pad next, but it was getting too hot and the working time with the compound was just too short to do anything productive (the owners of the car doesnt have a garage).

I spoke with someone from Chemical Guys who recommended a black MF pad to help cut through the swirls. He said the clearcoat on the car appears to be very hard. Next weekend we are going to take another stab at a different location with a garage.

Ive tried researching the current VW paints reputation for hardness but couldnt find much, and I dont know if what applies to Audis translates to their corporate cousins. For those who have worked on late-model VWs (2014 and later), what is your take and what do you recommend for this situation?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: How hard is VW paint?

do you have any friends with any Poorboys Polishes ? like master cut or any of the SSR lineup?

sun friendly

Brandt K.

Post Thanks / Like

used to be a cg fan... get the hd speed its better than all the cg compounds imo. or get menzurna i havent gotten to try any poorboys products yet. the menzurna with the cg hex orange pad worked for my 2012 cc. i only used the med cut polish

Post Thanks / Like

Seeing as you are in So Cal, you may want to take a visit to one of the Meguiars Thursday Night Garages if you are near the Irvine area.
    Competition Ready Team 1929 Bentley
    1999 Silvermist Metallic Pontiac Grand Prix GT
    2002 Arctic White Chevy Camaro SS
    Likes Stokdgs liked this post