Post Thanks / Like

Will a MF pad cut what a Meguiars foam cutting pad cant?

Hey guys!
    I am new to the detailing world, and my current set up is a Meguiars MT-300 DA, 5" backing plate and pads. I have a couple cutting pads, a couple polishing and finishing pads of the new Meguiars line. I am using 105/205 on an older 2003 Corolla and 98 Audi Avant.

The trouble I am running into is while I am able to get 90% correction - I am having a very hard time with some deeper scratches. I give them the fingernail test - and while some fail and I move on - some that dont appear to be DEEP into the clear coat just dont want to buff out. Swirls, water etching etc all come out easily along with numerous other scratches. I am wondering if a MF pad (one of the extra cut 4-ply pads) will do the trick.

I am also having a little trouble with lighter scratches close to plastic - particularly on along the doors bump guard on the black corolla. I cant get the DA against the plastic - or tape over it and make the pad contour for that matter without stopping pad rotation no matter how I try to skin it.

I am thinking of getting a small 3" backing plate and MF pad - or - a small rotary tool (which will help A LOT with snug fog light areas on some other cars I may play on).

**almost off topic question but I dont want another thread going: How do you guys get into the door handles? I have done a couple by hand (I simply pulled off the DA pad and gave it a whirl by hand - but it took a long time 5 or 6 minutes. An additional 20-25 minutes per car with mediocre results). Maybe Ill try some turtle wax rubbing compound I have laying around when I get back too it.
    the more I think about it the more I want to try a mini rotary out.
    802 (VT)

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Will a MF pad cut what a Meguiars foam cutting pad cant?