Post Thanks / Like

Compounds aggressiveness, using Megs products

Im new to the world of paint correction, and wanting to dive in and do my truck and possibly the wifes truck. Truck is an 02 Suburban, 200k and been a family truckster the last two years, and the wifes is an 06 Pilot, 150k andfamily hauler before we bought it, and even moreso now.

In looking at the paint, there is micromarring and some swirls, but its not as bad as I really thought it would be for the age and miles. Mine is white so it will hide the imperfections better, hers is the Honda gold so it hides well, but shows some more. Hearing the Honda paint is soft and thin, I am a bit timid of jumping in hard with a M105/205 combo, didnt know if the Megs UC would be a bit less aggressive than the 105. Or if jumping straight to the polish to see if that would be a better choice?

Im not looking for perfection, with the use and the miles the only way to get perfect would be new paint, as there are some rock chips and deep scratches. She has a scuff from where someone drove the door into hers in a parking lot. Dented and all (I hate some people, disrespectful %&#$!!s)

I know starting as least aggressive is the policy, but without the experience this is a hard call to make.

Will be a DA, and will take opinions on pads for this as well. I am looking at the GG DA, have not purchased just yet. LSP probably Megs GC or some Black fire products.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Compounds aggressiveness, using Megs products

Will get pictures of paint today as well for the experienced eyes as well!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Cameronswmp9 View Post
    I know starting as least aggressive is the policy, but without the experience this is a hard call to make.
    Youre already thinking about the right approach. Do a small test spot with a polish and polishing pad. Check results, and address accordingly.

Post Thanks / Like