Post Thanks / Like

I need help with some decontamination/prep for polishing

Hey there!
    I`m a first time poster, and working on detailing some of my personal (and family) cars. I am by no means an expert.
    So forgive me if this isn`t in the right sub-forum (or mods may move it).

After a very thorough wash (Poorboys slick and suds) on a 200k mile `03 black camry - a almost salt like mist is stuck to the car. I scrubbed with some Dawn Dish soap to try and get rid of some tar (shoe-string budgeteer) and a bug sponge. I tried some simple green (sort of an APC?) and attempted to spot clean some area`s repeatedly and than `attacked` with clay. After 4x passes with APC and clay I realized this dirty light appearance wont clear away. While A LOT appears to be an infinite amount of rock chips revealing primer, it`s hard to bring myself to continue on with the DA polisher without asking you helpful folks first at what it may be.

To add to that, there are numerous sap drippings on the car from a pine tree. They are between clear and white and take a REAL harsh thumbnail action with a few minutes of time. I`m sure some are through the clear coat (or all) but are there any products to make this step easier?

This was the roof before I started.. You can see some of the sap

A product or "two" I`m deciding between to the arsenal for this are..
    Surfex HD, 1z Bug and Tar, Optimum Power Clean, Progard V502, Proguard Truck and Trailer Wash (High PH for salt), IronX.

Jason
    802 (VT)

Post Thanks / Like

Re: I need help with some decontamination/prep for polishing

Do the small white spots feel bumpy after claying, or does the clayed section feel smooth (with the white spots still present)?

If it still feels bumpy, *might* be hardened concrete (not sure how it is a bunch of tiny specks, though) or paint overspray that is severely baked on.

If surface feels smooth after claying, unfortunately the clearcoat may be failing or have some serious issues.