Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi everyone,

Want to get a DA polisher, but the more I read, the more I am lost. I am a complete novice, never have I used a mechanical polisher. Ever.

Here in Europe, the price difference between a Flex3401 and a Megs G110V2 is ALOT smaller than in the US (here the Flex3401 costs only 30% more than the Megs). A PorterCable is out of the question since I cannot purchase one in Europe at all...

I have heard that in terms of newb safety, the G110V2 wins, as the Flex is direct drive and doesnt "shut down" under too much pressure.

I intend to buy a machine for myself, and to work on friends/family cars. A project I want to do is a entire BMW 7series black metallic with mega swirls and water etching...

Post Thanks / Like
    For me - there is no competition between the two. The flex is a much more powerful polisher. Easy choice. Either way, both DAs are going to make a huge difference.

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the reply tdekany

Problem with choice is that I heard from one or two people, that because of the lack of clutch on the Flex, its easier for a newb to apply too much pressure and damage the paint? Since I know nothing about DA polishers, I could not comment on that...

Post Thanks / Like
    note with the G110v2 (PC, GG6), you can swap out backing plates enabling you to use different size pads and carpet attachment as well (the Flex backing plate is fixed). if you could get the Griots 6" random orbital (video links below) out there, i would opt for that instead of the G110v2...

Griot`s Garage 6" random orbital polisher

YouTube - How to polish a car

Post Thanks / Like
    You can not damage the paint by "applying" pressure - I mean would you put your whole weight on it? Using common sense, you will quicly learn ho to polish.

Post Thanks / Like